Board of Directors

Peter V Allen

Non-Executive Chairman

Mr Allen was appointed as Non-Executive Chairman of the Group in January 2014. He is currently the Non-Executive Chairman of AIM listed Clinigen plc, Abcam plc and Diurnal plc, together with privately owned Oxford Nanopore Technologies Limited and Istesso Limted. He is a qualified Chartered Accountant.

Mr Allen has extensive experience in the healthcare industry, having held key senior positions in a number of companies and playing a significant role in their development. This includes 12 years at Celltech Group plc (1992-2004) as CFO and Deputy CEO, six years as Chairman (2007-2013) of ProStrakan Group plc (Interim CEO 2010-11), and three years as Chairman of Proximagen Neurosciences plc (2009-12).

Chris Meredith

Chief Executive Officer

Mr Meredith was appointed Group Chief Executive Officer in January 2011. He joined AMS as Group Commercial Director in July 2005 following a successful 18-year career in international healthcare sales, marketing and business development. His experience prior to joining AMS covered business-to business contract manufacturing, product development and clinical research, as well as branded product sales all within the medical device, pharmaceutical or consumer healthcare markets. He was appointed Managing Director of Advanced Woundcare in February 2008 and in January 2010 he became Chief Operating Officer for the Group. Mr Meredith has previously held senior positions at Smiths Industries, Cardinal Health, Banner Pharmacaps, and Aster Cephac.

Mr Meredith was appointed as a Non-Executive Director of Creavo Medical Technologies Ltd in May 2018. Creavo Medical Technologies Ltd is a UK-based, privately-held medical device company that is developing innovative techniques.


Mary G Tavener

Chief Financial Officer

Ms Tavener joined AMS as Finance Director in 1999. Prior to this she was the Group Financial Controller at BTP plc during a period of considerable corporate activity and was involved in the acquisition and disposal of several businesses that repositioned BTP plc as a fine chemical company prior to it being sold to Clariant AG. Her experience has been gained in several manufacturing companies and she has held financial positions with Cadburys Ltd and Parker Hannifin, a US Engineering Corporation. Prior to BTP plc she was the Finance Director of Churchill Tableware Ltd. She is a qualified Chartered Management Accountant and member of the Association of Corporate Treasurers.



Penny Freer

Senior Independent Non-Executive Director

Ms Freer was appointed as Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of AMS in March 2010. She is a partner of London Bridge Capital Partners, a corporate advisory business, and a Non- Executive Director of Empresaria Group plc, Crown Place VCT plc, Henderson Smaller Companies Investment Trust plc, and Centric Health, based in Ireland.

With 25 years’ experience in investment banking she was formerly Head of Equities for Robert W Baird in London and prior to this held senior positions at Credit Lyonnais and NatWest Markets.


Stephen G Bellamy

Non-Executive Director

Mr Bellamy was appointed as Non-Executive Director of AMS in February 2007. He is currently Chairman of Becrypt Ltd (data security and protection technology) and Concirrus Ltd (insurance technology), a Non-Executive Director at Michelmersh Brick Holdings plc, and a founding partner of Accretion Capital LLP (technology fund managment and advice). Formerly an Executive Director of Sherwood International plc and Brierley Investments’ London operations, he has also held a number of other Non-Executive Directorships and advisory roles. He is a New Zealand qualified Chartered Accountant.

Peter Steinmann

Non-Executive Director

Mr Steinmann was appointed as Non- Executive Director of AMS in July 2013. He is a Swiss national with over 25 years of commercial experience in Medical Devices and Diagnostics. He has held senior roles within Johnson & Johnson, Medtronic International and Boehringer Mannheim. Most recently, he was Regional Vice President Global Surgery and Shared Services, Medical Devices and Diagnostics, Austria, Germany and Switzerland at Johnson & Johnson AG, Switzerland as well as Chairman of the Board. Having worked throughout Europe and North America, he has extensive knowledge of the global medical devices market. He is currently Chairman of Advanced Perfusion Diagnostics SA and DistalMotion SA and is a Board Observer with Orthimo AG, and has held a number of other Non-Executive Directorships prior to joining AMS.